skip to Main Content


CMA CGM and Shone Win SHIPPINGInsight Award for Shipboard Artificial Intelligence Initiative

CMA CGM and Shone Win SHIPPINGInsight Award for Shipboard Artificial Intelligence Initiative

Award Presented at 7th SHIPPINGInsight Fleet Optimization & Innovation Conference

STAMFORD, Conn. – Oct. 17, 2018 – The prestigious SHIPPINGInsight Award for 2018 was presented today to CMA CGM Group and Shone Automation for an artificial intelligence pilot program for bridge operations at the 7th Fleet Optimization & Innovation Conference in Stamford, Connecticut.

The award is presented annually to honor a shipping company and its technology partners for the successful implementation of an innovative initiative that advances the state of the art in ship and fleet optimization.

Left to Right: Jim Rhodes, Co-Founder, SHIPPINGInsight; Valentin Perret, Head of Business, Shone; Clément Renault, Co-Founder, Shone; Frank Soccoli, Co-Founder, SHIPPINGInsight; Carleen Lyden Walker, Chief Evolution Officer, SHIPPINGInsight

CMA CGM and Shone collaborated to create and deploy a system to improve situational awareness, streamline bridge operations and enhance safety of navigation. The system fuses data from bridge navigation sensors and installed cameras and employs advanced artificial intelligence (AI) techniques taking into account the COLGREG rules to give bridge watchstanders an important decision-making support tool for piloting and collision avoidance.

“The pilot program validated the feasibility and value of retrofitting existing ships with technology to provide assistance to the navigation crew,” said Shone co-founder Clement Renault. “Artificial intelligence and machine learning techniques have been used to perform object detection in real time and augment the information already available from standard sensors such as AIS and radar.”

“Shone and CMA CGM are to be commended for their unique achievement in this pilot program, which brings innovative technologies from self-driving cars and drones to shipping,” said Carleen Lyden Walker, SHIPPINGInsight conference director and chief innovation officer. “This is a great example of what SHIPPINGInsight conferences are all about – bringing together shipping companies and technology developers to create innovative solutions to the challenges facing the industry today and in the future.”

The award winners each received a binnacled captain’s clock in a polished wooden case as well as framed certificates.


Previous Winners of the SHIPPINGInsight Award

2017 Maersk Tankers and ShipNet

2016 Eagle Bulk ShippingVeson Nautical and Accuritas Global Solutions

2015 Wilh. Wilhelmsen ASA and Callenberg Technology Group

2014 Stena Line and NAPA Group

Back To Top
×Close search